Olga Gomér Stemme

29th september 2014

Dear diary,

It was lonely waking up today. It was weird being able to turn around in my big bed without the bedsheets following my every move. It was lovely to finally get to eat my vegan-glutenfree breakfast in my own house. But with all the nice things that came with waking up in Stockholm the scent of Brussels was all over my mind, and clothes of course. Everything smelled like sweat and cigarettes…

My journey started Wednesday morning, early morning. At 11pm I had just finished packing my bags. Four hours to go, should I kill time or just take a short nap? I tried to sleep but I was too nervous or excited, I could not tell. At 3 am i walked through a biting cold Stockholm. My bag was almost empty because I litterlarly had to wear everything I had packed. Dear god please tell me that Brussels will be warmer.

Everything after me going on the bus and before the first step I took inside hotel Manhattan is a big blur in my head. I slept through the hole journey. Well planed since I am afraid of flying.

Brussels greated us with a rainy afternoon and we had a hard time finding any good places to eat at. Exhaused and warm as we were we finally just took the first place we found.

I remember Brussels as a grey city, a grey boring and ugly city. But then, a was about six years at that time. So I was prepared for something else. And actually Brussels suprised me. I felt a hint of Berlin, Paris and New York (ok, I am being really kind now). French balconies, tall buildnings and rough grey buidings covered in grafitty. Paris, Berlin and NY in other words. Speaking of New York, we atually lived in Manhattan, Hotel Manhattan. Best hotel in Brussels, at least best at serving lousy breakfasts and best of providing each room with a lovely cigarette smell. May I say stench. Hotel manhattan was an adventure of its self. Just the elevator made me say my last prayer. But enough with complaining, because honestly I had a really good time there. The time flew by at night and we sat up talking til 1am and ate heinz baked beans and vegetable ravioli that we ate with stolen forks.

Brussels delivered a good time, a perfect balance between school activitys and party nights.

Okey, so I think I will finish this blog entry with top 10 of this journey:

  1. going to the Eu comission and getting to try out how it was to be a interpreter
  2. the underground club we found and all that came with that night
  3. Eu parlament
  4. Living together with tha class and my roomates
  5. Good food
  6. Getting to know the class better
  7. Drinking ”trap”, the strong belgian beer
  8. The modern museum
  9. Knees to chin, a resturant with excellent rice rolls
  10. Belgian chocolate

I hope that someday I will return.

Lämna en kommentar